Here's Your Chance to Serve on Nebraska Soybean Board

Here's Your Chance to Serve on Nebraska Soybean Board

Districts 1, 3 and 6 have openings and elections will be held this summer. Get in candidacy petition by April 15.

Three district seats on the Nebraska Soybean Board will be up for elections in 2012. The districts are 1, 3 and 6.

Soybean producers in those districts are eligible to to run for election to the NSB by filing a candidacy petition by the April 15 deadline.

The election of board members will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all producers residing within the district in which an election is to be held, according to Victor Bohuslavsky, executive director of NSB.

NSB directors receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out board business. They will serve a three-year term that begins Oct. 1.

Sets open are:

  • District 1, covering Antelope, Boyd, Cedar, Holt, Knox, Madison and Pierce counties.
  • District 3, cover  Butler, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington counties.
  • District 6, covering Fillmore, Jefferson, Gage, Saline, Seward and Thayer counties.

Candidates for the NSB seats must be a resident of Nebraska, 21 years of age or older and a soybean producer in Nebraska for at least five previous years.

Candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean producers in their district, using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition. It must be returned to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before April 15 to be eligible for placement on the ballot.

To obtain a candidacy petition, contact Victor Bohuslavsky at the Nebraska Soybean Board by calling 402-432-5720.

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of 1% times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraskasoybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new

uses for soybeans and soybean products, Bohuslavsky says.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.