Jeff Rudolph is President of Nebraska Cattlemen for 2014

Jeff Rudolph is President of Nebraska Cattlemen for 2014

Dave and Bruntz of Friend inducted into Nebraska Cattlemen Hall of Fame.

Nebraska Cattlemen members have elected Jeff Rudolph of rural Gothenburg as association president for 2014. The election came at the recent annual convention of the Nebraska Cattlemen in Kearney where the association celebrated its 125th anniversary.

Rudolph, who moved up from NC vice president, succeeds Dale Spencer of Brewster. He is general manager of Hi-Gain Feedlot Inc., in Cozad where he has been since 1993. Hi-Gain has two yards—the one in Cozad and the other near Farnam.

A graduate of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1985 with a degree in animal science, Rudolph has served as marketing committee chairman and as representative of the Feedlot Council.

SERVICE TO THE BEEF INDUSTRY: Dave and Ann Bruntz of Friend have been inducted into the Nebraska Cattlemen Hall of Fame.

Other 2014 officers are Dave McCracken of Friend, president-elect, and Barb Cooksley of Anselmo, vice president. Spencer moves to the position of past president. 

Nebraska Cattlemen councils and committees also elected leaders. Jaclyn Wilson-Demel of Lakeside is chairperson of the Cow-Calf Council, while Clark Gotschall of Atkinson is vice chairman. Dan Hunt of Oxford was elected Seedstock Council vice chairman.

Nebraska Cattlemen members leading the committees for 2014 are: Nancy Peterson, Gordon, Education Committee chairman; John J. Schroeder, Cozad, Marketing & Commerce Committee chairman; and Gregg Wiedel, Hebron, Member Services Committee chairman.

The Nebraska CattleWomen elected Tammy Hansen, Burwell, as Consumer Education and Promotion Committee chairperson.

Nebraska Cattlemen also handed out several awards.

Dave and Ann Bruntz of Friend were inducted into the Nebraska Cattlemen Hall of Fame. Both have a long record of service to the association. This is the association's most prestigious award.

AT THE HELM: Jeff Rudolph has been elected president of the Nebraska Cattlemen.

Kellie Loos of Litchfield was named Nebraska Cattle Woman of the Year and the Nebraska Rural Radio Network received the Industry Service Award.

"This year's convention was a huge success," said newly elected president Rudolph. "Not only was the time filled with great speakers and presentations, but constructive conversations were sparked by the membership."

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.