Nebraska Soybean Board Seeks Producers For Three Positions

Nebraska Soybean Board Seeks Producers For Three Positions

Candidate deadline to apply is April 15; elections will be by direct-mail.

There are two district seats on the Nebraska Soybean Board that will be eligible for election in 2014.  Soybean farmers in Districts 5 and 7 are invited to run for election to the board by filing a candidacy petition by the April 15, 2014, deadline.

The election of directors will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all soybean farmers residing within the district in which an election is to be held, says Victor Bohuslavsky, board executive director.

Nebraska Soybean Board Seeks Producers For Three Positions

The at-large position on the board also is open to all soybean farmers in Nebraska and will be elected by the directors at July 2014 business meeting. A candidacy petition must also be filed by the April 15deadline for the at-large position.

"This is an opportunity to see for yourself how the soybean checkoff money is invested, and become a part of the decision making process," says Bohuslavsky.  "You will become a voice representing your district on the board."

NSB directors and the at-large position receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out board business. Those elected will serve a three-year term which would begin Oct. 1, 2014.

District 5 consists of Cass, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee and Richardson counties.

District 7 comprises Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Franklin, Hall, Kearney, Nuckolls and Webster counties.

Candidates for these two positions and the at-large position must be a resident of Nebraska, 21 years of age or older and have been a soybean producer in Nebraska for at least 5 previous years.

Prospective candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean farmers in their district using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition. That petition must be returned to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before April 15 to be eligible to be on the ballot. To obtain a candidacy petition, contact Bohuslavsky at the Nebraska Soybean Board by calling 402-432-5720.

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of 1% times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products. 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.