Nebraska Soybean Growers Elect Directors

Nebraska Soybean Growers Elect Directors

Bartek, Peters and Lammers remain on the soybean board of directors.

The Nebraska Soybean Board held elections in July for Director Seats in District 3 and 6. Nebraska soybean farmers in those districts voted with the following results:

District 3 - Consisting of Butler, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington.  Richard Bartek of Ithaca in Saunders County won election with 422 votes. Jeff Shaner of Fort Calhoun in Washington County received 144 votes.

District 6 - Consisting of Fillmore, Jefferson, Gage, Saline, Seward and Thayer counties. Greg Peters of DeWitt in Gage County won election with 385 votes. Marc Hroch of Wymore received 191votes.

Bartek, Peters and Lammers remain on the board of directors.

The re-elected directors will serve a three-year term. Richard Bartek, a soybean farmer from Ithaca, will begin his second term; and Greg Peters, a soybean farmer from DeWitt, and will begin his fourth term.

Ed Lammers, a soybean farmer from Hartington in Cedar County, ran unopposed. He retains his seat as the District 1 director and will begin his second term.

"We have a good direction and a great team of directors that bring a wealth of experience to make things happen in the future of soybeans," says Victor Bohuslavsky, Nebraska Soybean Board executive director. "We're excited to help direct action that will increase soy's value for all Nebraska soybean farmers."

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one half of 1% percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. 

Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products. 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.