Nebraska Wheat Board Seeks Producers for Two Director Openings

Nebraska Wheat Board Seeks Producers for Two Director Openings

If you're interested in applying, contact the governor's office by June 1.

Positions for District 1 and District 6 on the Nebraska Wheat Board are open for appointment by Gov. Dave Heineman. The new term will begin July 1. The filing deadline is 5 p.m. June 1.

Candidates must be citizens of Nebraska, at least 21 years of age, have been actively engaged in growing wheat in Nebraska for a period of five years, reside in a county in the respective district for which the candidate is applying and derive a substantial portion of income from producing wheat.

Nebraska Wheat Board Seeks Producers for Two Director Openings

District 1 represents the northern Panhandle and covers the following counties:  Sioux, Dawes, Sheridan, Box Butte, Scottsbluff, Morrill and Garden. Chris Cullan of Hemingford, the current District 1 director, has not indicated whether or not he will seek reappointment.

District 6 represents more than 50 counties in the eastern half of Nebraska. Delferd Schlake of Blue Springs, the current District 6 director, has indicated he will not seek reappointment.

Any producer interested in appointment may submit an application to the Governor's office for consideration. To obtain an application, call Kathleen Dolezal, staff assistant for boards and Commissions with the Nebraska Governor's Office at 402-471-1971. Interested producers may also apply online.

The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the checkoff of 0.4% of net value of wheat marketed in Nebraska at the point of first sale. The board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research, promotion and education.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.