Thirty New Nebraska LEAD Class Members Selected

Thirty New Nebraska LEAD Class Members Selected

Class 33 of the leadership program has begun its two-year program and will travel in Nebraska, nationally and internationally.

Nebraska LEAD Group 33 participants began their two-year Leadership Education/Action Development program last month.

"The newest members of Nebraska's premier leadership development program in its 33rd year are made up exclusively of participants who are involved in production agriculture and/or agribusiness in Nebraska," according to Terry Hejny, program director. "Once again we are proud to say that Class 33 appears to be filled with outstanding individuals from throughout the state."

Thirty New Nebraska LEAD Class Members Selected

LEAD Fellows will participate in 12 monthly three-day seminars across Nebraska, a 10-day national study/travel seminar and a 14-16 day international study/travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem solvers, decision makers and spokespersons for agriculture and Nebraska.

Seminar themes include leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, agricultural policy, leadership through communication, our political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, advances in health care, resources and people of Nebraska's Panhandle and other areas designed to develop leaders through

exposure to a broad array of current topics and issues and how they interrelate.

The Nebraska LEAD Program is operated by the non-profit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the UNL Institute of Agriculture and Natural

Resources and 10 other institutions of higher education throughout Nebraska.

Nebraska LEAD 33 Fellows in alphabetical order are:

  • Jason Arp, Kennard;
  • Chris Bender, Burwell;
  • Amy Black, Hastings;
  • Keith Borer, Elgin;
  • Ryan Brodersen, Randolph;
  • Matt Broz, Hayes Center;
  • Pete Dixon, Pleasanton;
  • Matt Dolch, Lincoln;
  • Nathan Dorn, Hickman;
  • Brooke Engelman, Jansen;
  • Nick Fowler, Imperial;
  • Wayne Frederick, Amelia;
  • Brad Heinrichs, Bruning;
  • Nate Hughes, Geneva;
  • Jessica Johnson, Scottsbluff;
  • Tim Johnson, Doniphan;
  • Chad McDaniel, Roca;
  • Anne Meis, Elgin;
  • Jolene Messinger, McCook;
  • Jeff Moon, Fremont;
  • Alex Peterson, Haigler;
  • Michael Ann Relka, Mitchell;
  • Jon Root, Central City;
  • Kenny Smith, Omaha;
  • Mark Suhr, Seward;
  • David Swanson, Wahoo;
  • Jake Tollman, Grand Island;
  • Jess Waddell, Sutton;
  • Calvin Wineland, Cambridge;
  • Barry Young, Clatonia.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.