Three Openings on Nebraska Soybean Board

Elections will occur in two districts within the Nebraska Soybean Board.

Soybean producers in Districts 5 and 7 are encouraged to run for election to the board by filing a candidacy petition by the May 15 deadline. The election will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all producers residing within the district in which an election is to be held.

The at-large position on the board also is open to all producers in Nebraska and will be elected by the board's directors at the November 2008 meeting. A candidacy petition for the at-large position also must be filed by the May 15 deadline.

NSB directors receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out board business.

Three-year terms for these seats begin Oct. 1, 2008, and end Sept.30, 2011.

Director seats open are:
District 5: Cass, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee and Richardson counties.
District 7: Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Franklin, Hall, Kearney, Nuckolls and Webster counties.

Candidates for the two districts and the at-Large position must be a resident of Nebraska, 21 years of age or older and have been a soybean producer in Nebraska for at least 5 previous years.

Candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean producers in their district using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition and return it to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before May 15, 2008, to be eligible for placement on the ballot.

To obtain a candidacy petition, contact the Nebraska Soybean Board, 3815 Touzalin Avenue, Suite 101, Lincoln, NE 68507 or 800-852-2326.

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one half of 1% times the net sales price per bushel soybean checkoff.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.