UNL Veterinarian Receives National BQA Award

UNL Veterinarian Receives National BQA Award

Dr. Griffin has been instrumental in Nebraska's beef quality assurance program since it began in 1987.

Dr. Dee Griffin, a veterinarian at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Great Plains Veterinary Educational Center in Clay Center, has received the 2012 Beef Quality Assurance Educator of the Year Award. The recognition came last month at the 2012 Cattle Industry Convention in Nashville, Tenn.

Four BQA awards were presented—two to producers, one for the BQA Marketer of the Year, and the award given Griffin.

Dr. Dee Griffin

The Beef Quality Assurance program is a voluntary national educational program for beef producers, and is implemented by the states. It focuses on training programs for proper animal care and handling practices. In Nebraska, the program is administered by Nebraska Cattlemen and jointly supported by the Nebraska Beef Council, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the Nebraska Veterinary Medical Association.

The Educator of the Year Award recognizes an individual in the beef industry who embraces the BQA philosophy and strives to spread the word on how to produce a high quality beef product.

Griffin has been a BQA certified trainer for the Nebraska BQA program since its inception in 1987. He currently serves on the Nebraska and National BQA Advisory Boards.

He started the first "train the trainer" sessions in Nebraska and has traveled across the state to educate BQA trainers. According to Cattlemen's Beef Board news release, Griffin has trained 250 BQA trainers and certified more than 1,000 producers.

In the early 1980s, the beef industry realized a need for BQA and Griffin was one of the pioneers that helped that idea become a reality.

Also during the Cattle Industry Convention:

Maci Lienemann of Norris High School south of Lincoln was one of 10 students to earn a $1,500 scholarship from the National Cattlemen's Foundation.

Jaclyn Wilson-Demel of the Wilson Ranch near Lakeside was elected to the National Cattlemen's Beef Association's Young Producers Council Board of Directors and head of the council's resolutions committee.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.