Heineman Seeks Flood Disaster Declaration

Heineman Seeks Flood Disaster Declaration

Request for federal assistance involves 18 counties.

Gov. Dave Heineman has submitted a formal request to President Barack Obama for a disaster declaration from the federal government in response to flooding that is affecting communities along the Missouri and Platte River systems in Nebraska.

"Our flood challenges are of sufficient magnitude to warrant federal assistance to help save lives and protect property," Heineman says. "These two river systems encompass 380 miles from border to border in Nebraska. The logistics of sustaining a prolonged response like the one we are facing will require the support and assistance of our federal counterparts."

The Governor's request includes damage that began May 24. The 18 counties included in the Governor's current federal disaster declaration request border the Missouri and Platte River systems.

Affected counties along the Platte River are Garden, Lincoln, Morrill and Scotts Bluff, and along the Missouri River the counties are Boyd, Burt, Cass, Cedar, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Nemaha, Otoe, Richardson, Sarpy, Thurston, and Washington.

Heineman's request for federal assistance includes funding requests for debris removal, emergency protective measures and direct federal assistance.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.